Yesterday, I moved my desktop computer around, no big deal, huh? Except after I plugged everything back in, my dual-boot wasn’t working.

• Windows clock was messed up
• Ubuntu wouldn’t boot
• Running dpkg didn’t work

On Windows I got “An error occurred while Windows was synchronizing with…”, and Ubuntu said something along the lines of: “last write time is in the future. (by less than a day, probably due to the hardware clock being incorrectly set). FIXED.” then it stalled.

I tried using,

For Ubuntu
– “sudo apt-get install -f”
– “sudo apt-get install ntp”
– Reinstalled ntp
– Editing the /etc/default/rcS file

For Windows
– Restarting the Windows Time Service
– Making windows not use UTC

And a bunch of other unsuccessful actions.

I even tried reinstalling, but unfortunately, it didn’t work because it said I had no internet.

The real problem? An external USB memory device wasn’t plugged in properly.

It all works magnificently now.